Comment Update

I believe in blogs being all about the conversation but many comments recently have been disappointing for a variety of reasons. As a result, I have decided to implement a policy that will see me approve or disapprove every comment. If a comment is constructive, relevant, insightful, etc., it will appear on the blog. It’s that simple. My apologies to anyone offended by this decision. Update: Just to be clear, it’s not my intention to stifle comment and discussion. But I will not condone impoliteness and personal attacks.

14 Responses to “Comment Update”

  1. Apple Says:

    Mark, I say don’t change anything yet.
    Let the nuts post here too. As long as they can unload their frustration, you’re doing a great job.
    Your blog will be more important in the future when Yahoo message board will not be available for NT shareholders. /delisting, revsplit, BK/
    Don’t expect clean social events here as your blog is about Nortel and NT stock, known as 4th-5th biggest fraud ever on the Top 10 list. /so far/
    How much Nortel is going to pay?
    http://securities.stanford.edu/top_ten_list.html
    .
    I enjoy good job RochonGenova and his firm is doing.
    http://www.rochongenova.com/nortelarticle2.aspx
    I would encourage you to get_ seek some new info about settlements

    Reading all court documents is very interesting too.
    http://www.nortelsecuritieslitigation.com/court_en2.php3
    If you have time or a reason you can check who was defrauded, who lost money and will not be compensated as they are not included in the settlements, who objected the settlements and more ….

    It looks like Nortel’s employees will not be compensated as they invested indirectly in NT stock.
    There are many NT shareholders who will not be compensated so it is normal to have different opinions about Nortel, about NT stock, about Nortel’s accounting, about the settlements….

  2. John L. Mericle Says:

    Interesting.

    1. “Disappointing.” What were you expecting? Without knowing that, how can we judge whether you SHOULD be “disappointed”?

    2. “For a variety of reasons.” OK: what ARE they? See #1, above.

    This is a very interesting site, one which can foster serious,honest discussion. I hope it is your intent to keep it that way.

    Best regards,
    JLM

  3. Happyshopper Says:

    Is Microsoft snubbing Nortel?
    http://www.itwire.com.au/content/view/6781/127/

  4. someeditor Says:

    Hi, I guess you could say Observer seems to have some issues. I don’t know him but it seems he is a lone voice out there that wants to make his point – albeit he can take his time to get there.

    I would presume that he is the target of your censorship? But why? He’s the one putting the points across and other just seem to slam him down for having a ‘negative’ viewpoint.

    You would presume correctly that I am a comms press editor, UK based but we do have a Nortel over here too you know. I get invited to all their press bashes etc, wined & dined frequently and still I slam them myself if there is a need.

    I am also an ex-Nortel employee (pension is doing very well and I hope to collect it in about 5/6 years).

    What is it you want to achieve from your blog. The only way to get discussion going is to impart views and hope they are controversial enough to get some comment from others with different views. Otherwise let’s all form a circle and keep patting each other on the back.

    Nortel has some issues too. In the UK their spinmeister has just resigned and gone over to the ‘dark side’ – Avaya. The first this year to reverse a one way trend from the opposite direction.

    Mircosoft is ‘two-timing’ Nortel with Live Comms Server by installing it on Mitel kit in their worldwide tech dem centres.

    Let’s get some view on that and let Observer have his rant. If anyone does not like what he says then hit back with some comment and opinion without getting personal.

    Standing by…

  5. Observer Says:

    Excellent move!

    It will remove the personal attacks that conribute nothing to topic for their vested interest and clean up the blog.

    Keep up the great work Mark.

  6. Yvon Landry Says:

    Great decision

  7. John L. Mericle Says:

    Thanks for the update. Who can argue with that?

    Best regards,
    JLM

  8. rock samborsky Says:

    Ok, Mark, fair enough about personal attacks, but will you continue to allow unsubstantiated fiction like that from post #1 above?:

    “Your blog will be more important in the future when Yahoo message board will not be available for NT shareholders. /delisting, revsplit, BK/
    Don’t expect clean social events here as your blog is about Nortel and NT stock, known as 4th-5th biggest fraud ever on the Top 10 list. /so far/”

    To date, I am not aware of Nortel being removed from the Yahoo message board roster. I am not awar that Nortel stock is in imminent threat of being delisted. I am not aware of impending bancruptcy.

    And what “top 10 list” is this person talking about?

    What the hey, it’s your blog and you’re the blog God.

    Have a nice day.

  9. jayemmay Says:

    Mark,

    I agree with your decision to moderate the comments. Otherwise, they can degrade into useless, angry insults.

    I think you mean, though, that you will allow or disallow a comment as opposed to approve or disapprove a comment.

    A more difficult question is whether you are able to determine if a comment is a false so-called fact or an opinion. It would be nice if you could eliminate comments that contain factoids, that is false invented facts. But I think that is probably too hard.

    Best wishes to your blog. I read it for your comments, more than for the comments of the readers of the blog.

  10. Apple Says:

    rock samborsky Says:

    November 6th, 2006 at 12:25 pm
    Ok, Mark, fair enough about personal attacks, but will you continue to allow unsubstantiated fiction like that from post #1 above?:

    “Your blog will be more important in the future when Yahoo message board will not be available for NT shareholders. /delisting, revsplit, BK/
    Don’t expect clean social events here as your blog is about Nortel and NT stock, known as 4th-5th biggest fraud ever on the Top 10 list. /so far/”

    To date, I am not aware of Nortel being removed from the Yahoo message board roster. I am not awar that Nortel stock is in imminent threat of being delisted. I am not aware of impending bancruptcy.

    And what “top 10 list” is this person talking about?

    What the hey, it’s your blog and you’re the blog God.

    Have a nice day.

    ==============
    re
    rock samborsky
    I exposed your bad intensions in my post but Mark did not post it.
    I will try again now.
    As you see now NT is doing RevSplit and it means that Yahoo mess board will not be accessible for many weeks as NT will change the symbol
    You have to admit you were wrong!
    What about you Mark?
    Who is the BS-er here?
    Me or rock samborsky?
    Mark, you can go to Yahoo NT mess board and find one wrong prediction of mine in the last 3 years! Yes4AAPI

  11. rock samborsky Says:

    Ya ya, you’re always right. I give up. You must be as rich as Warren Buffet.

    I really don’t have the time to read, let alone discuss the 10,000 or so posts you have left on the Yahoo message board. I’ll leave that one to Mark.

  12. Easy to prove yes4aapi wrong Says:

    Remember during spring 2005 you constantly predicted a trial during the summer. Did that ever happen? NOPE never did.

  13. Apple Says:

    Easy to prove yes4aapi wrong Says:

    November 8th, 2006 at 10:48 pm
    Remember during spring 2005 you constantly predicted a trial during the summer. Did that ever happen? NOPE never did.

    =========
    re
    Haha, trials have never happened… good one!
    It’s funny how you don’t like to connect the dots.
    Question
    Do you know why the trials have not happened yet?
    Answer
    It is because Nortel tries to settle the claims down paying $2.7 bill in settlements!
    Does it mean I was wrong about trials?
    btw
    It was RochonGenova.com expecting dates for trials and it was RochonGenova settling down with Nortel!
    I challenge you again!
    Bring another wrong prediction of mine but try not to shoot your foot again!
    You guys are picky when I said NT stock is trading at 4 years lowest levels.
    Let me ask again
    Where NT stock is headed?
    Is it headed to 4 years highest levels or to 4 years lowest levels as I stated?

  14. Bill Ritchie. Says:

    Nortel has just blown me and all other investors like me out of the water!
    I purchased Nortel com. shares just before the “crash” and then bought their shares again at around $30.per share.
    I tried to place my investment with Nortel into a position for future recovery some years down the road!
    My financial plan has now been “blown apart” with the introduction of the “one share for 10 shares” effective December 1st., 2006.
    This new arrangement means that Nortel’s stock would have to go up to $600. per share for me to recover my investment!
    I am sure there are thousands of “small” investors out there that are in the same boat as myself. You thought the same as I did and have reinvested in Nortel as I did in order to recover your losses eventually.
    Well that is NOT going to happen within anyone’s life time.
    There is no other alternative but to sue Nortel for an out-of-court settlement and the sooner the better.
    If you wish to join me you can e-mail me at: cwritchie@cogeco.ca
    Anyone else wanting to participate in this discussion or has any other ideas on what to do, please reply here.
    Thank you for reading this investor’s story about investing in our Canadian corporation called — NORTEL!

Leave a Reply

